The Faces of PSA – Meet Tedd Schaffer

ted schafferName: Tedd Schaffer

Title: Flight Attendant

How long have you worked for PSA? 9 months

Give us a brief overview of what you do: Outstanding customer service! First class customer service is not just a goal, but something I truly feels comes natural to most all who have this calling. Larger than life people skills, helping and assisting passengers who often are under enormous stress is definitely something where my public service background has been helpful.

What do you love about working for PSA? Meeting co-workers and passengers from every conceivable background.

What brought you to PSA? The feeling one gets when nearing the end of a long-time career and still having that, “What will I do when I finally grow up?” feeling. Couple that with always having a love for discovering new and different cultures and places. Along with a true love of working with the public and have always having enjoyed a challenge of expanding my comfort zone, PSA offered a unique opportunity to fulfill that void. Also, CVG (Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky Airport) being a flight attendant base enabling the flexibility to combine the two careers, without the need to commute, made PSA a no brainer for me.

Where’s your favorite place you have traveled? While working: Greenville, New Orleans and Louisville to name a few.

What are some of your hobbies? Playing in a men’s baseball league, attending minor league baseball in all the quaint small towns PSA travels to.

What do you love about working for PSA? Meeting co-workers and passengers from every conceivable background.

Why would you recommend PSA? Great training and super personal growth opportunities at any age.

What did you do before coming to PSA? I am a 25-year veteran firefighter/paramedic of the Cincinnati Fire Department

What have you learned about the industry in your time with PSA? The biggest thing I believe I have learned since joining PSA would have to most certainly be the “lifestyle” working this industry. Like the fire department, holidays and weekends are just days of the week to this culture.

What has been the most rewarding part of your job? Of course, meeting new people every day and learning a new industry totally out of my “comfort zone.”

Is your family involved in the industry? My 25-year-old daughter Miranda, a University of Cincinnati graduate, is a newly hired American Airlines’ mainline Flight Attendant scheduled to begin training in Dallas this month. I get personal gratification of having three grown kids all making their own mark in this world. I also have a 29-year-old daughter, Kirsten, who is a graduate of the University of South Carolina working in television news in San Antonio and a 27-year-old son, Spencer, who is a graduate of The Ohio State University Fisher College of Business and a 1st Lieutenant in the Marine Corps.

Tell us something no one knows about you: I’m a pretty decent 55-year-old baseball league left-handed pitcher. I play in over 100 games annually. I started playing organized baseball at age 5. Although the core group of players I play with on a regular basis play most of our games in the greater Cincinnati area in 3 different local leagues, we also play tournaments in the fall & winter months in Ft. Myers, FL, West Palm Beach, Phoenix and Las Vegas. We have won numerous championships over the years at different levels of amateur and semi-pro baseball. Probably our most pride was winning the 2003 Roy Hobbs championship held annually in Ft. Myers with over 200 teams competing. As a left-handed pitcher, it was personally gratifying to have pitched my only career no-hitter in the semi-final game that year.

Also, I have lived on the Ohio River aboard a Chris Craft houseboat the past seven years.